Specific Behavior Challenges- Inattention

I decided to read the section on inattention in depth because this is the problem my Case Study student is having at school. As I read through the first part that talks about how you know if this is your student’s problem, it felt like they were describing my student to perfectly. His problems in school stem from him not being able to get started, not be able to finish anything, and getting distracted easily. He is an extremely bright student, and when he is focused, he achieves great things in school.

It was great to read this section of the article and get some new ideas for interventions. I’ve created a chart for him on which he gets a sticker for each subject in the day if he does what he needs to do during that time. I think after reading this article I realize that I need to be very very specific for every single subject regarding my expectations for him. I think that if I am very specific and am giving him positive enforcement, he can be successful. The chart is also more behavior-based than task-based. Even if he does finish a piece of work, if he wasn’t focused and attentive, then he will not be getting his sticker. Likewise, if he does work really hard and stays focused, but can’t finish a task for some other reason, he could still earn his sticker. The article mentioned the importance of the consequences being behavior-based rather than task-based, so I think this way of using his chart will be effective. The article talks about preferred activities being rewards rather than tangible things like candy. I guess this is the part of the project that I’m still thinking on. I am trying to notice things that I see him really enjoying during school so that I can make those his rewards. Overall, I enjoyed reading this section of the article because I felt that it was talking directly to me and gave me some great ideas for interventions with my student.

3 Responses to Specific Behavior Challenges- Inattention

  1. katiejordan says:

    Hey Sydney! I like how you pointed out how it seemed like the article was describing your case study student exactly! I find myself thinking that same thing with many of our assigned readings. I think I have realized that teachers can see “a little bit of everything” within their class every year. Even if the student’s behaviors may not be quite as severe, there are still strategies and practices that can be adjusted and utilized to meet specific student and classroom needs. I am glad you noticed the importance of behavior-based management strategies. As teachers, we need to learn to work smarter with our students, in the end holding them accountable for their behavior! I hope you have a great weekend!

  2. kristenwendover says:

    Hey Sydney-

    I think this was a great article, because there were sections that helped each person get ideas for students in their classes. It is interesting to hear about your current case study. My CT and I have been working closely with one of our students (my case study student from last semester) who can be described in much the same way as you described your student above (so bright, but trouble attending).

    You made many great points about behavior- based rather than task-based consequences. I feel that in our attempts to make a modified behavior plan for my student, we have ended up with a behavior- based plan that has been extremely effective. It is reassuring to read articles and current research to support decisions that we have made in our classrooms.

  3. Emily Hobbs says:

    Hi!!
    I think what you have started sounds great! I think you really used this article in a great way. I agree that it was helpful for new ideas of for dealing with different behaviors. I agree with what Kristen said about how reassuring it is to read articles and current research to support decisions that we have made in our own classrooms!

    Good luck with the rest of it – can’t wait to see how it’s working!

Leave a comment