Behavior Intervention Data

For my Behavior Intervention project, I am going to primarily use anecdotal notes. Because the student I’m focusing on is frequently disorganized, slow, and off-task, I think it will be important for me to be able to jot down specific instances and exactly what is happening during those times. Hopefully I will be able to see improvement, because I will at first be only taking notes when the student is doing the negative behavior. After I enact my behavior plan I will begin taking notes on how well it is working and on positive behaviors that have come from it. I may end up using some of the other types of data collection as secondary resources, but I think the anecdotal notes will be my most useful.

3 Responses to Behavior Intervention Data

  1. katiejordan says:

    Hey Sydney. It sounds like the anecdotal notes will be a good strategy for you to use with your case study. It is important that this note-taking doesn’t interfere with our teaching! I am interested to see how this goes…

    Have a great weekend!

  2. kristenwendover says:

    Sydney-

    That seems like a great strategy. I understand the value of numerical data (and am using some), but I think anecdotal notes always add a lot. They can really paint a picture of when a behavior is happening, what the exact behavior is, and ways the situation or current structures encourage or allow the behavior. Good luck with your case study. I hope talked to your student gives you some new insights!

  3. Emily Hobbs says:

    I feel better knowing this is at the stage alot of us were at at this point in the project. Anecdotal notes I believe are very important in developing the plans because they provide a starting point and an informal way for us to continue the process of observing our student. Good luck!

Leave a comment